Cores

The operations for recovering, sample processing and distributing and data management of nPOD donor gifts are done through four different cores:

Administrative Core

The Administrative Core, located at the University of Florida, coordinates relationships with Organ Procurement Organizations (OPOs) and screening labs, which are of critical importance to organ recovery. The administrative core also coordinates investigators relations, special projects and day-to-day activities. The current members of the nPOD administrative core are:

  • Mark Atkinson, Ph.D., nPOD Executive Director, Professor
    University of Florida
    (352) 273-8276
    atkinson@ufl.edu
  • Alberto Pugliese, M.D., nPOD Co-Executive Director, Professor, Diabetes Research Institute
    University of Miami
    (305) 243-5348
    APuglies@med.miami.edu
  • Carmella Evans-Molina, Ph.D., M.D., nPOD Co-Executive Director, Professor, Indiana University School of Medicine
    (317) 278-3177
    cevansmo@iu.edu
  • Mingder Yang, Ph.D., nPOD Director
    University of Florida
    (352) 273-9296
    mdyang@ufl.edu
  • Sirlene Cechin, Ph.D., nPOD Working Groups/DataShare Scientist
    University of Miami
    (305) 243-7977
    scechin@med.miami.edu
  • Kurt Reis, B.A., CTP,  nPOD Donor Development and OPO Liaison
    University of Florida
    (352) 273-9271
    kreis@ufl.edu
  • Joseph Pobee, M.S., MCHES, nPOD Investigator Coordinator
    University of Florida
    (352) 294-8773
    pobee@ufl.edu
  • Teresa Keppel, nPOD Administrative Assistant
    University of Florida
    (352) 273-9295
    tlkeppel@ufl.edu

back to top

Autoantibody Core

The Autoantibody Core, located at the University of Colorado, manages quality control and assurance for nPOD screening laboratories and also tests nPOD tissues for diabetes-related autoantibodies. The current members of the autoantibody core are:

  • Liping Yu, M.D., nPOD Autoantibody Core Director
    University of Colorado Health Science Center
    303-724-6808
    Liping.Yu@uchsc.edu
  • Clive Wasserfall, M.S., nPOD Laboratory Scientist
    University of Florida
    (352) 273-9298
    clive@ufl.edu

back to top

Data Management Core

The Data Management Core, located at the City of Hope in Duarte, California, handles all data related aspects of the project, serves as the projects interface with the United Network of Organ Sharing (UNOS) and manages nPOD’s autoantibody database. The current members of the data management core are:

  • John Kaddis, Ph.D., nPOD Data Management Core Director
    City of Hope National Medical Center
    (626) 256-4673 ext. 63377
    jkaddis@coh.org

back to top

Organ Processing and Pathology Core

The Organ Processing and Pathology Core (OPPC), located at the University of Florida, receives nPOD donor tissue directly from OPOs, processes the tissue, ships samples directly to investigators and stores case samples and data. The current members of the OPPC are:

 

back to top